Fireproof Logo

QuickCheck: Print checks at home

When I moved to the US last year, I was in for a surprise. Despite all the talk about digital payments and cashless societies, I found myself needing to write checks more often than I ever imagined. Rent, utilities, even some local services – they all seemed to prefer those little rectangular pieces of paper. As a newcomer, I was stumped. (If you're interested in the fascinating history and persistence of checks in the US, this article is a great read.)

My Lightbulb Moment

QuickCheck Demo

I quickly discovered that getting checks wasn't as simple as I thought. My bank offered a measly starter pack, and after that, I was looking at either hefty fees for ordering more or pricey monthly subscriptions for check-printing services. All this for something I needed maybe once or twice a month to print some numbers? It felt like overkill.

That's when it hit me – why not create a simple app to print checks at home? Something straightforward, without the bells and whistles (and costs) of those enterprise-grade solutions. And so, QuickCheck was born.

Enter Fireproof: My Secret Weapon

As a developer, I knew I needed a robust backend to handle sensitive financial data. That's where Fireproof came to my rescue. Here's why it was perfect for my little project:

  1. Local data storage: Fireproof's local-first approach allowed me to create an app that functions without an internet connection. This ensures users can access their check information even when offline.

  2. Sync when you can: While the app works offline, Fireproof makes sure everything syncs up nicely when you're back online. So I could create a check on my laptop and access it later on my phone if needed.

  3. Lock it down: The end-to-end encryption was a big plus. Even as a developer, I appreciate when a tool handles complex security features out of the box.

How It's Going

I started using QuickCheck for my own needs, but word got around. Soon, some small business owners were asking if they could use it too. Turns out, I wasn't the only one frustrated with the existing options! The best part? QuickCheck is completely free if you don't need the sync feature. For those who want the convenience of syncing across devices, there's a small fee, but it's still far more affordable than traditional check-printing services.

What people seem to love most is the simplicity. No frills, no fuss – just create your check template, fill in the details, and print. And because I built it on Fireproof, I can honestly tell them their data is secure and accessible, even if their internet goes down right before an important payment is due.

Because Fireproof handled all the complex data management stuff, I could keep QuickCheck lean and mean. With everything running on a $5/month Cloudflare plan, there's no need for expensive servers or complex infrastructure. This efficient setup means I can offer QuickCheck at a fraction of the cost of those fancy check-printing services, while still providing a robust and reliable service.

So here I am, solving a very American problem with a bit of tech ingenuity. It's not going to make me the next Silicon Valley billionaire, but it's making life a little easier for folks like me who are still figuring out the quirks of financial life in the US. And honestly? That feels pretty good.

Tagged: